MAC Announces Women's Swimming and Diving Preseason Poll

MAC Announces Women's Swimming and Diving Preseason Poll

Cleveland, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference Women's Swimming and Diving head coaches have unanimously selected the Akron Zips to repeat as MAC champions this season. The Zips also were selected to finish the regular season in first place, receiving all eight votes.

Akron comes into this season after winning their fourth consecutive conference title last year. Leading the way for Akron is 2016-17 MAC Swimming Coach of the Year, Brian Peresie who is heading into his fifth season at the helm for the Zips. In the pool, Akron will be led by their five returning All-MAC first team recipients in Ragen Engel, Sadie Fazekas, Paloma Marrero, Madison Myers, and Jackie Pash.  

Buffalo was selected to finish second in the Mid-American Conference this season. Returning for the Bulls in 2017-18 is last season's MAC Most Outstanding Swimmer and All MAC first-team recipient Megan Burns.

Eastern Michigan was picked to finish third in the poll while Miami and Ohio were selected to finish fourth and fifth, respectively. Bowling Green, Toledo, and Ball State all round out the poll.

2017 MAC Women's Swimming and Diving Coaches' Preseason Poll
1. Akron (8)
2. Buffalo
3. Eastern Michigan
4. Miami
5. Ohio
6. Bowling Green
7. Toledo
8. Ball State

MAC Tournament Champion: Akron (8)

Related Headlines