MAC Spotlight:  MAC Football Coaching Tree

MAC Spotlight: MAC Football Coaching Tree

The MAC has a long list of legendary head football coaches since its inception in 1946.  Miami University has the unique reputation as the 'Cradle of Coaches' with legendary football coaches such as Woody Hayes, Bo Schembechler, Ara Parseghian, Weeb Ewbank, Paul Brown and Sid Gillman all had roots at Miami, and the impact they left on the college football landscape can still be felt today.

The current collegiate football landscape is witnessing another MAC 'Cradle of Coaches' as football programs across the FBS level continue to take notice of MAC head football coaches.

Last December, Bowling Green head coach Dave Clawson led the Falcons to the 2013 Marathon MAC Football Championship and one week later Clawson was named the head coach at Wake Forest. Clawson replaced Jim Grobe as head coach at Wake Forest and ironically Grobe previously coached at Ohio University.

Clawson joined the lengthy list of former MAC head coaches currently at head coaching positions within FBS. In 2012, both coaches from the Marathon MAC Football Championship game received new opportunities. Former Northern Illinois head coach Dave Doeren was named head coach at North Carolina State and former Kent State head coach Darrell Hazell was named head coach at Purdue.

There are 13 former head coaches from the MAC in a current FBS head coaching position–including nearly half of the Big Ten (five total) and both coaches from the 2013 BCS Championship Game – Alabama’s Nick Saban (Toledo) and Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly (Central Michigan).

For the 2014 season, 27 of the 128 FBS head football coaches (21%) will be either current or former MAC head coaches.

Former MAC Football Coaches:
Big Ten – Urban Meyer-Ohio State (Bowling Green), Brady Hoke-Michigan (Ball State), Jerry Kill-Minnesota (Northern Illinois), Tim Beckman-Illinois (Toledo), Darrell Hazell-Purdue (Kent State)
Ind. – Brian Kelly-Notre Dame (Central Michigan)
SEC-Nick Saban-Alabama (Toledo), Gary Pinkel-Missouri (Toledo), Butch Jones-Tennessee (Central Michigan)
ACC-Al Golden-Miami (Temple), Steve Addazio-Boston College (Temple), Dave Doeren-NC State (Northern Illinois), Dave Clawson-Wake Forest (Bowling Green)

Also, Ohio head coach Frank Solich has been the recent model for consistency in coaching in the MAC. Solich arrived in Athens, Ohio in 2005 and during his nine seasons running the Bobcats program has garnered a bowl appearance in six of his nine seasons. During his coaching career at Ohio, Solich has a record of 71-53 and his 71 wins ranks sixth most in MAC history.

Most MAC Head Coaching Wins, Career
1. 110, Herb Deromedi, Central Michigan, 1978-93
2. 108, Bill Hess, Ohio, 1958-77
3.   79, Bob Pruett, Marshall, 1997-03
4.   77, Doyt Perry, Bowling Green, 1955-64
5.   73, Gary Pinkel, Toledo, 1991-00
6.   71, Frank Solich, Ohio, 2005-present
7.   66, Trevor Rees, Kent State, 1951-63
8.   64, Bill Mallory, Miami, 1969-73; Northern Illinois, 1980-83
9.   62, Al Molde, Western Michigan, 1987-96
      62, Joe Novak, Northern Illinois, 1997-2007

Related Headlines